review of all travelers book now – find beds
80/100
TrustYou Survey04.01.2022 ()

I had a lovely time at this hostel. It’s large, the beds are comfy and it has a beautiful hangout space. Unfortunately due to Covid their bar was closed.

80/100
TrustYou Survey02.01.2022 (Rasul)

We stayed in a room for two, it was clean and comfortable, but it was a bit cold. The worst was the shower – the water pressure was disappointing. And it was a bit overpriced – I am sure you can find a better deal at a hotel… we only stayed here to be able to meet other travelers like us

20/100
TrustYou Survey23.12.2021 (Brandon)

Upon arrival I thought the receptionist was welcoming (this was the only good part). Having been in a pandemic, I do not understand why this place shoves 6 people in a room while there are empty/1 persons in a 6 bed dorm to themselves. This was identified by the receptionist. Secondly, why is there 1 bathroom for 6 peole. After reading other reviews, this is the same for a 10 bed dorm as well. This is disgusting, especially considering it was not clean and there was urine all over the floor. Not to mention an awful smelling draining systems and mold. This is not acceptable, especially during a pandemic. Third, there is no room to actually get changed. Even in that tiny bathroom shared by 6, there is nowhere to place your stuff without putting it on the gross floor. 4. There is a tiny kitchen for over 1,000 people with one fridge. Again, gross and unacceptable, especially considering the size of this place. Also, why don’t you fix the broken one that’s in the kitchen? A clean refrigerator will cost no more than a few 100 euros, something that is easily made in a day. 5. The bedding is gross. Clearly you have not listened to the complaints from 2019 stating how it is gross and that the mattresses, bunk beds and duvets need changing. I have stayed in plenty of hostels ranging from single rooms to 12 bed dorms, this is by far the dirtiest and worst place I could have stayed. In fact, I actually feel sick from staying there and if I do get covid, I will blame it solely on this place as it was unkept and filled with coughing people everywhere. Wombat hostels has forever lost a customer and I will be sure to let as many people know about this disgusting experience. I’m so thankful I found a hotel only a mile down the road for a cheaper price and an overall better experience. Fix yourself, before you get someone ill; what a gross place and I only hope this place gets shut down. You offer no benefit to any traveler. Please choose any other place but this one. This comes from someone who has been to 30+ countries and has stayed in over 50 hostels around the world. Lastly, to anyone reading this if you want covid or any illnesses for that matter then go here. Otherwise, choose a different place. There are plenty in Munich for a cheaper price that will offer an overall better experience.

100/100
TrustYou Survey07.12.2021 (João M.)

I was in Munich for the weekend and I got the luck of staying in this hostel. I was in a 6 bed mix shared room with all the commodities, one locker that can be closed and open with a card, a bathroom only for the ones that were using the room, one big table in a very spacious room, a towel for free and in terms of conditions everything was very clean. The workers were all of them very helpfull in giving tips, nevertheless in the bar I saw a small conflict happening that might have been avoided if there was more patience from the side of the bartender and the security guard. I really enjoyed my stay here, and I’m looking forward to return!

40/100
TrustYou Survey21.11.2021 (Flavio)

The first night we didn’t have a twin room. They gave us a 6 bed dorm with just two single beds inside. Very uncomfortable beds, very noisy. Then we could change the room for the second night in a double room. Much better with no noisy people. At the second morning we couldn’t take a shower because there was no more warm water. At the end the staff at the reception was quite rude. He said we are to late for check out. But we paid for late check out. He didn’t even know that such a thing existed. It can happen but you should have apologised for it. Quite rude and condescending towards us. For about 80 euros a night, you can also stay in 3-star hotels in munich. Certainly perfectly fine for an overnight stay in a dorm, but the 2-bed rooms are not worth the money.

100/100
TrustYou Survey09.11.2021 (Yuli)

Всё, начиная с прибытия и кончая отъездом, было просто замечательно! Тем более мне, туристу 74 лет, предоставили, без доплаты, лучший номер, чем я мог себе позволить, а также нижнюю кровать – такое бывает далеко не везде.

80/100
TrustYou Survey09.11.2021 (Heike)

Schöne Aufenthaltsbereiche, Flure, Küche, alles schön, besonders, wenn man vom wuseligen Bhf-Viertel rein kommt ;) Mein EZ hatte ein bequemes breites Bett, viel Fenster, war nicht riesig, aber völlig ok und Preis-Leistung echt gut. Es wurde sogar tags das Bett gemacht, hatte ich nicht mit gerechnet :)

100/100
TrustYou Survey08.11.2021 (Lucy)

Had a wonderful time at Wombats. The lobby and bar were really nice places to hangout and get to meet people. Many young, open, international people there who are open for a chat or going out at night together. The room (womens dorm) was clean and the roommates were really nice. It’s very central so you can walk into the old town or take the metro anywhere from central station. Recommend it to everyone!

60/100
TrustYou Survey07.11.2021 (Andreas D.)

Ich war zum ersten Mal im Wombat und es war insgesamt in Ordnung für jeweils 25€ pro Nacht, kommt aber nicht an den Standard der Jugendherbergen heran. Ich war in einem relativ ruhigen Sechsbettzimmer. Die Ausstattung war in Ordnung, aber die Sauberkeit ließ zu wünschen übrig. Sowohl im Bett als auch im Bad überall Haare. Das Wasser im Bad war außerdem kalt und mit wenig Druck. Die Mitarbeiter versuchen mit ihrem überwiegend freundlichen Auftreten einiges auszubügeln, was aber gerade beim Thema Sauberkeit nur bedingt klappt. Die Küche habe ich nicht genutzt, schien aber gut ausgestattet und sauber zu sein. Die Bar war abends leider viel zu laut um sich zu unterhalten – neue Leute kennenlernen sollte man also lieber woanders!

40/100
TrustYou Survey04.11.2021 ()

The room I stayed in (416) had no heat all three nights I was a guest. I and other guests of that room mentioned the issue to reception several times and received responses such as “it is supposed to be fixed soon” and “I can offer you another blanket.” I believe no one who works at reception actually went upstairs and checked the room. It was truly warmer/more comfortable in the hallway. I do not believe guests should have been assigned to stay in that room.

20/100
TrustYou Survey02.11.2021 (Giulia)

We booked a private double room but at night it was extremely cold and heating was not working. The morning after we didn’t have any hot water in our shower, and the girl at the reception, without any kind of surpriese, just said: I can give you the key for common shower. We paid for a private room with private bathroom and that was everything they managed to do and say. I totally understand it is an hostel, and not a 5 star hotel, and that would have been totally ok with us for just one night….but I’m sorry to say this was such a bad experience.

40/100
TrustYou Survey01.11.2021 (Hayley W.)

The lobby is very spacious, with polite staff, I had a pleasure check in. But, there is ONLY one bathroom and shower shared by 10 people. Obviously, it is not enough. Another thing, ALL heaters are not working at night, we all cold and freezing, it’s not good. It’s hard to imagine what if it happen in winter (It’s still autumn come on…).

100/100
TrustYou Survey01.11.2021 (Flavia)

No text entered.

80/100
TrustYou Survey30.10.2021 (Nicola)

Nice place! The kitchen and the common areas can become a really nice spot for meeting new people and having good time in Munich. Two things to improve: wi-fi connection and greater attention for noises during the night.

100/100
TrustYou Survey25.10.2021 (David)

The staff is very kind and multilingual, but what blew me away where the facilities. The common area looks amazing and is very comfortable if you don’t want to sit in your room. Everyone is very quiet and respectful and you can meet many interesting people here. The kitchen is very well equipped and extremely clean. They rely on everyone leaving everything as clean as they found it and it works surprising well! What I like in general about this place is how well thought-out everything feels. The only negative thing I have to say is that both sink and the shower in my room were therrible. The sink kept spraying water everywhere and the shower had so little pressure that it was nearly impossible to take a proper shower (could be just a problem with our room though). Everything else was amazing, especially for the price. Good Job Wombats!

100/100
TrustYou Survey25.10.2021 (Steffi)

The hostel is in a great, central location with super nice staff and perfectly clean and spacious rooms and common areas. I was super happy about the shared kitchen to prepare and eat my breakfast there. It is quiet at night, even on the weekend, and the bed is really comfortable – so you get a good rest after a day in the city. Everything is very well organized and convenient. I really liked the interior, art works and common space. All in all the perfect stay in Munich while traveling on a budget :) Thank you to all the staff for creating this great space and environment.

80/100
TrustYou Survey23.10.2021 ()

The bar and communtiy space are great. price of the room and bar is also very nice. However, the showers had nearly no pressure, warm water was rarely and the water didn‘t flush nicely. Anyway, I would stay again

60/100
TrustYou Survey19.10.2021 (Alessandro G.)

Cool location close to city centre and station. The hostel is not so clean and it has base services. Good thing: it looks safe

80/100
TrustYou Survey14.10.2021 (Anja)

I had a really nice stay at Wombat´s. However, I feel that some things could be improved. The staff was always really nice and helpful, great common area. However, the matrass was full with small black hair when I arrived. That should be checked when cleaning the room and if there are be removed. Water pressure in the bathroom was very low and sometimes there was no hot/warm water.

100/100
TrustYou Survey13.10.2021 (Ava)

Very nice and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. Very clean kitchen. The location is amzing, very close to main train Station and to the beautiful old city. Wifi could be a bit slow at evenings, but absolutly enough for contacting friends and searching for location and directions. In general, I am really satisfied with my stay

100/100
TrustYou Survey12.10.2021 (Sophia H.)

The staff was very nice and helpful, the room and bathroom were also quite clean and organized, as well as the common kitchen and social areas. I really liked the decoration of the hostel and also the location right next to the central train station. I only wish they had breakfast available the days I was there, but other than that it was quite a great experience.

20/100
TrustYou Survey11.10.2021 (Yasmin)

We paid way too much for a private room and we did not even have water let alone warm water. The receptionist couldn’t do anything about it, or simply wasn’t willing to do anything about it and became very offensive, although we never blamed her for anything, we just wanted it solved. Already at check in something went wrong and we had to wait for around 30 min until our friend could be checked in. During that same check in another woman walked in furious because she had booked a female dorm but was put in a mixed one without her knowledge. All in all a lot of failures from the hostel’s side.

60/100
TrustYou Survey05.10.2021 (Mira)

The hostel is a great spot to visit munich-near to the main station and the city centre. It has a nice chill area and looks quit good. The bar and the breakfast were not offered when we stayed here in october. The toilet in our room was defect as well as the shower (really less water came out of it, nearly impossible to shower here)

100/100
TrustYou Survey04.10.2021 (Zuliani)

Nice place – Great location – Clean room

100/100
TrustYou Survey02.10.2021 (Irene)

I definitely recommend Wombat’s! Great location, friendly staff, and you get everything you need for a short stay for a fair price. There is a nice common hall with sofas and a fully equipped kitchen in case you want to cook your own food. We just had a few problems with electricity and water pressure but as soon as we informed the staff they fixed it right away. I would be happy to stay in other Wombat’s locations when I solo travel again