book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Die München Story
@ womBar Munich

Die München Story

Beer rules!

Wer an München denkt, denkt unweigerlich auch an Bier. Für viele Besucher der Stadt ist es auch das Einzige woran sie sich später noch erinnern können. Wie eng aber die Bande zwischen dem Gerstensaft, der Gesellschaft und sogar dem Staat sind, ist wirklich einzigartig. Ein paar Details.

Eines der sensibelsten Themen in Bayern je her ist der Bierpreis. 1844 erhöhte König Ludwig den Bierpreis um 1 Pfennig. Infolge brach der erste große Volksaufstand in der königlichen Hauptstadt aus. Vier Tage lang stürmten zehntausend Bürger Bräuhäuser, randalierten und belagerten den königlichen Palast. Der König musste schließlich nachgeben und den Bierpreis wieder senken. Die Information am Rande: Eine Woche zuvor wurde auch der Brotpreis erhöht, diese Preissteigerung wurde aber vom Volk hingenommen.

Der Bierpreis steigt heute jährlich. In der freien Marktwirtschaft kriegt man das leichter durch. Sollte es wider Erwarten aber zu Aufständen kommen, könnte der Freistaat zur Not jedoch in die wirtschaftlichen Mechanismen eingreifen.

Das Staatliche Hofbräuhaus in München ist ein Staatsbetrieb des Freistaates Bayern. Das Hofbräuhaus verfolgt als Franchise-Geber das Ziel weltweit Hofbäuhäuser zu etablieren. Indirekt betreibt also der Freistaat Bayern Bierlokale in England, Ungarn, Südafrika, Thailand, China, Korea, Japan und den USA. Ein Imperialismus der anderen Art.

Üblich sind Staatsbetriebe weltweit bei Geldinstituten und Versicherungen, sowie im Bau- und Verkehrswesen, oder der Krankenversorgung. In Bayern ist das Bier also genauso wichtig wie eine funktionierende Krankenversorgung, ein funktionierendes Straßen- und Verkehrsnetz oder die Liquidität des Landes.

Als Einstieg in die bayrische Kultur empfehlen wir also, erst einmal in unserer womBar ein großes Bier zu bestellen.

find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

The Munich Story
@ womBar Munich

The Munich Story

Beer rules!

When you think of Munich, you inevitably think of beer. For many travellers it is also the only thing they can remember from their stay in Munich. How close the connection between beer, society and even the state actually is, is truly unique. A few details.

One of the most sensitive issues in Bavaria has always been the price of beer. In 1844, King Ludwig increased the price of beer by 1 pfennig. This resulted in the first major popular uprising in the royal capital. For four days, tens of thousands of citizens stormed the breweries, vandalised and occupied the royal palace. The king finally had to give in and reduce the price of beer. As an aside: one week previously the price of bread had also been increased, but this price increase was accepted by the public.

Today, the price of beer increases every year. In the free market, these things get through more easily. But if it does unexpectedly lead to an uprising, the Free State of Bavaria can fall back on economic measures in an emergency.

The public Hofbräuhaus in Munich is a state-owned operation of the Free State of Bavaria. The Hofbräuhaus as a franchisor, pursues the aim of establishing the Hofbräuhaus all over the world. So the Free State of Bavaria indirectly operates beer venues in England, Hungary, South Africa, Thailand, China, Korea, Japan and the US. Imperialism of a different kind.

This type of shareholding is common in financial institutions and insurance companies, as well as in the construction and transport industry, or in health services. We can assume, that in Bavaria, beer is just as important as a functioning healthcare system, a functioning road and transport network or the solvency of the state.

As an introduction to bavarian culture we recommend to order a large beer in our womBar at wombat’s Munich.