book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Die London Story

Die London Story

Ich war einmal ein Schiff!

Als wir dieses geschichtsträchtige Haus übernahmen war uns klar, dass das Interior Design etwas Besonderes sein muss. Etwas Echtes. Keine Spanplatten mit Furnieren, kein fake Vintage. Wir wollten Holz. Echtes Holz. Am liebsten Eiche. Alte Eiche. Ein Material das Persönlichkeit und Geschichte hat. Wie das Haus selbst.

Unseren Tischlern hat diese Entscheidung das Leben sicher nicht leicht gemacht. Über das Resultat sind wir aber alle mehr als glücklich und was in England noch wichtiger ist, wir sind alle um eine Anekdote reicher geworden. Wusstest Du, dass es wirklich Leute gibt die hauptberuflich Holz suchen? Altes Holz. Altes Eichenholz gibt es natürlich nicht frisch aus dem Wald. Dieses Material gibt es nur Second Hand und je mehr man braucht, desto schwerer ist es zu finden. Für das Interior Design unserer Rezeption, der Lobby, des Frühstücksbereiches, der Gästeküche, den Chill Out Bereichen im Basement und der Bar brauchten wir eine Menge von diesem Material. Unser Wood Scout hat es gefunden.

Wer heute im wombat’s CITY HOSTEL London an der Bar steht, stellt sein Ale auf über 500 Jahre altem Holz ab. Holz das schon in Schiffen und Kirchen verbaut war. Ein schöner Brückenschlag zur Geschichte des Hauses. Immerhin ist das Haus schon 1865 als Hostel für Seemänner eröffnet worden und stand schon damals neben der St. Peters Church. Es diente als Herberge für die tausenden Matrosen der britischen Handelsmarine die mit ihren Schiffen in den Docks anlegten und eine Bleibe suchten.

Heute ist die Kirche eine Kindertagesstätte, auf den ehemaligen Docks werden Luxuswohnungen gebaut und auf dem Holz, welches einst als Schiff den Ozean bereiste, speisen, trinken und relaxen heute die Gäste des Hostels. Das Hostel ist nach 150 Jahren immer noch ein Hostel, aber Matrosen checken bei uns kaum mehr ein.

book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

facilities
  • wifiFree Wi-Fi
  • luggage storageLuggage Storage
  • lockersGreat Lockers
  • breakfastBreakfast
  • kitchenKitchen
  • 24h Reception24h Reception
  • laundryLaundry Facilities
  • barBar

The London Story

Once – I was a ship!

When we took over this historic house, it was clear to us that the interior design had to be something special. Something genuine. No chipboard with veneer, no fake vintage. We wanted wood. Real wood. Ideally oak. Old oak. A material that has personality and history. Like the house itself.

This decision certainly didn’t make life easy for our carpenters. But we are all more than happy with the result and, even more importantly in England, we’ve all gained a few anecdotes along the way. Did you know that there are actually people whose job it is to look for wood? Old wood. You can’t just get old oak out of the forest. This material can only be obtained second hand, and the more you need, the more difficult it is to find. For the interior design of our reception, the lobby, the breakfast area, the guest kitchen, the chill out areas in the basement and the bar we needed a huge amount of this material. Our wood scout found it for us.

Today, if you sit at the bar of wombat’s CITY HOSTEL London, you’ll be setting your ale down on wood that’s over 500 years old. Wood previously found in ships and churches. A wonderful bit of bridge-building to the history of the house. After all, the house was opened in 1865 as a hostel for seamen, and was located beside St Peter’s Church. It served as a hostel for the thousands of sailors in the British Merchant Navy who berthed with their ships in the docks and sought a place to stay.

Today the church is a day care centre, luxury apartments have been built on the former docks and guests at the hostel eat, drink and relax on wood that once travelled the ocean as a ship. The hostel is still a hostel after 150 years, but we don’t get too many sailors checking in with us these days.