book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Detailed Reviews
Default Site Image

Detailed Reviews

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: 89 of 100 (9359 Reviews)

100/100TrustYou Survey
15.06.2018
Marie
Clean, safe, and centrally located. Excellent service!
20/100TrustYou Survey
14.06.2018
Aisling D.
Arrived at the hostel at 12 to be told rooms were still being cleaned and to come back at 2pm, which was fine. When we arrived at 2pm we were able to check in, we went to room and the floor was very obviously filthy, impossible to miss, broken glass and plastic shards (can provide photos). Sheets were clean but duvet and pillows very badly stained yellow. We were in a rush for a show we were seeing that evening and had decided we would ask to get the floor cleaned as we were leaving, until one of our group got cut by a small piece of glass on her bed. We went to reception who moved us to a different room and offered extra drinks coupons as compensation for our trouble. Moving took about 4 trips between the two rooms and reception due to letting them know the issue, moving bags, changing key cards, and letting them know that the room they moved us to was also dirty and had no sheets. The cleaning staff therefore had to come and clean the room while we were trying to get ready for the show, and did not clean the bathroom (can provide photos), I think they tried to offer to clean the bathroom while somebody was about to go use it in fairness, but didn't have the English to explain it hadn't been cleaned. The entire process was exhausting and I am surprised considering how good reviews are on your trip advisor, and the awards given, which is why I specifically chose for our group to stay here. I do not expect much at all from any hostel except a clean room, clean bed and clean bathroom, and would warn anyone away from this hostel. I do sincerely hope that this was a one time bad experience given on your part, as drink vouchers are really not a sufficient apology for the issues we experienced. The staff at reception were nice and somewhat apologetic, but did try dispute us on the shards being glass Vs plastic, which was a bit annoying considering how either way my friend got cut and the room was absolutely filthy. We genuinely would have considered cancelling if it wasn't only for one night.
100/100TrustYou Survey
13.06.2018
Miya B.
Absolutely loved this hostel! It was extremely clean and we felt super safe with all of the locks that you have to get through to get to the rooms. The bar was a big plus and everyone was very friendly. Our roommates were great--although I know there's no control over that, it was still nice. As a light sleeper, I definitely appreciated how quiet the rooms were. Will definitely stay again if given the chance!
80/100TrustYou Survey
12.06.2018
Ruben
Everything was fine, the crew is so kind, but there is a lot of noises that came from outside and it makes Hard to rest well.
100/100TrustYou Survey
12.06.2018
No text entered.
80/100TrustYou Survey
10.06.2018
Overall a good stay but I felt a little off with the loudness of some of the guests. Luckily our 6 bed mixed room had quiet guests but the common areas were uncomfortable. The WiFi was a little choppy. The staff were beyond helpful. No AC or ventilation in the washroom so it got a little hot. The music at the bar was great.
80/100TrustYou Survey
09.06.2018
Room cleaning: could be much better. The floor remains dirty and the bathroom too. Location: good. Close to some city attractions. Kitchen: excellent. Many kitchen utensils and plenty room. Very good fridge system. Bar: very good
100/100TrustYou Survey
08.06.2018
Chloe
Stayed at Wombats in London in June for five nights, we had a warm welcome and were able to store our bags in the luggage room to explore before check in. We stayed in a 6 bed female dorm, the beds were suuuler comfy and nice clean sheets. Honestly, the ensuite bathroom was incredible it was so clean and spacious and modern! We tried the wombats breakfast and it was pretty good for £4.90! We also used the kitchen facilities and that was amazing, super practical and great space. Overall we had an incredible stay and would definitely recommend to anyone considering staying here!
60/100TrustYou Survey
07.06.2018
Wilson
The room had a good space and good restroom. But I had to chance the room because a suspection of bed bug.
100/100TrustYou Survey
07.06.2018
Terri H.
Easy checkin and checkout; very helpful staff, and great value and accommodations.
100/100TrustYou Survey
06.06.2018
Giuli
Wombat hostels are very comfortable and well equipped. Always a safe choice.
100/100TrustYou Survey
05.06.2018
Mark K.
Staff were really friendly. Hostel was very clean. Extremely secure. Good value for money.
80/100TrustYou Survey
05.06.2018
Very clean, friendly staff, and nice amenities. It was great to have free towels and secure lockers. Great value for the price. Highly recommended!
100/100TrustYou Survey
04.06.2018
Melissa P.
Really enjoyed my stay, the room was nice and the bathroom was clean, it has a great location, near restaurants and public transportation, it is also a great place to meet new people, and the staff was really friendly! Loved the experience.
100/100TrustYou Survey
04.06.2018
Jose
I loved the hostel - the staff were really friendly and helpful. It was all very clean and well equipped, and the bar was really cool! The hostel is located a short walking distance away from the Tower of London/Tower Bridge and the underground station and bus stops, making it really easy to go from there to any other place in London. There were a few bars and restaurants in the area so there were lots of people on the street at night, especially on Saturday.
100/100TrustYou Survey
03.06.2018
Deirdre
My sister and I had an extremely clean, comfortable, and accommodating experience here. We were so relieved when we checked into the hostel to find friendly employees willing to help us with anything we needed. We were also impressed that there were places to lock our bags and a bar, kitchen, deck, etc with free wifi. Our roommates along with others we met from the hostel were kind and respectful, and we were very comfortable the entire stay. Would highly reccomend this to others who are looking for a place in London!
100/100TrustYou Survey
03.06.2018
The dorms were extremely clean and had very nice bathrooms. The staff was helpful for everything we needed from questions about the hostel to recommendations on what to do in London. Loved staying here and definitely would again.
100/100TrustYou Survey
03.06.2018
Vivien
Great experience for my first stay in a hostel as a solo traveller- good security features, great facilities and really friendly people all round. Great location, would definitely recommend!
80/100TrustYou Survey
02.06.2018
Bill M.
My strongest impressions of my stay at Wombats is with all the staff. I stayed a week, and during my stay, not once was I treated with disrespect or indifference. Every interaction I had with the staff showed that they were all eager to provide service with expertise, kindness and enthusiasm. My stay at Wombats proved that an indication of the experience guests can expect isn’t determined by the number of stars beside a hotels name.
100/100TrustYou Survey
01.06.2018
Alice
Amazing experience !
100/100TrustYou Survey
01.06.2018
Mrs R. Z.
Excellent layout,staff all happy which makes the client happy, even the cleaning and kitchen staff are joyous. So polite and helpful with my probably same question they have heard multiple times before! My criticism is that in the Courtyard a separate area should be set aside for smokers. Also at the entrance a no smoking ban should be enforced for a range of at least 10metres. Smoke also drifted up into the bedrooms when our window was open!
100/100TrustYou Survey
01.06.2018
Roxanne
I would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to London!
100/100TrustYou Survey
31.05.2018
Bryony D.
First time I have stayed at the wombat london 100% would recommend. Staff are friendly, location is central to Tower Hill and Aldgate East tube stations. Dorm was very spacious with own bathroom. Will definitely stay again.
100/100TrustYou Survey
31.05.2018
Cecilia F.
Great ambience, friendly and helpful staff, really clean. Everything a traveller needs!
40/100TrustYou Survey
31.05.2018
Having read this is meant to be one of the best hostels in London I was extremely disappointed. Having just stayed in a hostel abroad, my experience in the Wombat was very poor in comparison. Considering my booking was required to be changed, there was almost a surcharge of the same price in doing so, in total being double the price that was expected. Staff weren’t exactly welcoming, however on departure were pleasant. The beds were creaky and dated, with no privacy at all, especially if you were on the top bunk. The other places of the hostel were unclear of when they were open and there was no obvious signage as to where to go for these rooms. On a whole, it has turned me off staying in hostels in the future