book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Detailed Reviews
Default Site Image

Detailed Reviews

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: 88 of 100 (9683 Reviews)

40/100TrustYou Survey
15.04.2019
Lane P.
The hostel was really big with lots of families and not just your typical backpacker. Rooms were really nice - great shower and toilet, lockers, comfortable beds. Kitchen and common bathrooms good as well. The staff were really rude though and had no customer service. Wasn’t told where my room, kicthen, bar etc were. Wasn’t told about checkout, wifi, anything. Not very friendly feeling from the staff. Overall it would be a great introduction to hostel life if you’ve only stayed in hotels and the like. Definitely didn’t have a hostel feel. Also nice and close to Brick Lane markets and the tube and the river.
100/100TrustYou Survey
15.04.2019
Stephanie
I had a wonderful night's stay at Wombats London. The entire hostel was very tidy and I felt instantly at home. My room was perfect, and the bathroom especially was so nice. The front desk was very helpful with any questions I had too.
100/100TrustYou Survey
14.04.2019
Joao L.
Better than many 5 hotels around the world
80/100TrustYou Survey
14.04.2019
I have never stayed at a hostel that had so many families and middle aged and even on the verge of elderly folks. They seemed nice but it really does change the vibe of what I thought hostels were about, young travelers trying to keep it in a budget, it just feels weird sleeping in a dorm room with someone my dads age. Also there was a woman in the kitchen that I’m not sure if she was supposed to be there. Seemed like maybe she was but had so many bags was walking around barefoot and was trying to feed food to pictures on the walls while having conversations with them. Seemed harmless but not sure id want to share a room with her. She was well over the usual age limit of the hostels I’ve stayed in Otherwise had very cool hangout areas which the weather had been better to use the outdoors, loved the location and the amenities. Biggest issue was having one shower for eight people. I had to wait for four people to shower before I could get in, so I had to leave much later than anticipated.
100/100TrustYou Survey
13.04.2019
Jack
Lovely stay. One of the nicest hostels I've used. The bar staff were outstanding, food was delicious. Very reasonably priced. Lad on the desk was a miserable fucker on arrival but he might have been having a bad day. Would 100% recommend.
60/100TrustYou Survey
11.04.2019
David
No text entered.
100/100TrustYou Survey
09.04.2019
Paulo E.
Amazing experience. I Will defintly share me time in the hostel.
80/100TrustYou Survey
09.04.2019
Cj H.
Everything is great expect the shower. The shower is not hot enough to wash away the lassitude.
100/100TrustYou Survey
08.04.2019
Austin
I loved it. The rooms were clean, and very nice. I loved how the bar down stairs was there and allowed everyone to come together and hang out. I’ll definitely be coming back.
100/100TrustYou Survey
07.04.2019
Henna
Lovely staff and comfortable clean rooms. Really appreciated the ensuite and charging points on the beds. Large communal spaces and good location in London Whitechapel. The noise from outside is quite loud though
100/100TrustYou Survey
07.04.2019
Mathilde G.
It was a great hotel, very clean, and we were well welcomed. Very pleased
100/100TrustYou Survey
07.04.2019
Katy A.
wombat’s is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in, in terms of cleanliness and ease of use. When I come back to London I will definitely stay here
100/100TrustYou Survey
06.04.2019
Staff is really friendly! I love that you organise so many activities
100/100TrustYou Survey
05.04.2019
Vanesa W.
Everything was great a d comfortable. The staff was nice and helpfull too. But, sometimes the kitchen was very dirty and one day a nice bag of my friend that was in the fridge disappeared. Finally, in the rooms the international charger doesn't fit. Luckily we could use de usb port.
20/100TrustYou Survey
01.04.2019
David
Worst hostel in London I have ever stayed in!
40/100TrustYou Survey
30.03.2019
Marisa
I was excited about this hostel because the location near tower bridge, my favorite spot in London was ideal. But my experience however was incredibly disappointing. There was no hot water for 80% of my stay and the “hot” water when it eventually DID turn back on was *just* warm enough to shower in. Most of the people in my room ended up leaving and demanding a refund. I wish I had been that smart. The staff feigned ignorance for several days and then kept telling me that it had either been fixed or they were working on it. Also my mattress had a stain and one of the beds in our room was incredibly creaky. Also there is no hot water at all for the sinks so my face and hands are now unbelievably dry. Not to mention you have to make and unmake your own beds yourself... I am not sure why this hostel has the high rating that it does but after this experience... I’m hoping my fellow hostellers also leave reviews.
100/100TrustYou Survey
30.03.2019
Angela D.
found wombat's last year - the hostel I used to stay in went out of business - and what a find!! clean rooms, comfortable beds, hot showers, working elevators and wonderful breakfast (for additional GBP but worth every 'penny') AND I cannot say enough about the fabulous, friendly and informed reception, especially Charlie, Geraldine, and Paolina! I'm somewhat mobility challenged and all three went out of their way to find me bus routes (step on / step off compatible) to ease my travel... thanks; see you next year!...
20/100TrustYou Survey
28.03.2019
Maria D. L. A. M.
You didn’t have hot water during my entire stay. And you know it before I checked in.
40/100TrustYou Survey
27.03.2019
Javier
el hostel esta bien. algunos detalles de la habitacion pero 5 dias sin agua calinte
100/100TrustYou Survey
26.03.2019
Gosia
Everything was amazing! Very friendful and helpful staff, they help with everything. Very clean rooms and toilets, it's amazing that in my room was bathroom, toilet in another room and sink in room. It helped very at morning when everyone waked up. I love this small shelf, light and usb charger in bed (the best solution I've seen in hostels). I felt very safe at this place, (to entry was needed card, no stranger walked around the hostel). Also i like the bar and beer in your hostel 🙂 I will recommend to everyone!
80/100TrustYou Survey
25.03.2019
Sofia
Staff was friendly, room was nice and clean. No hot water though, other than that, quite nice. Breakfast was pretty good for hostel and not too pricey.
20/100TrustYou Survey
25.03.2019
Dimitris M.
Dear Madam or Sir, We had three nights without hot water. I was all day out exhausted and I needed to take a hot shower. Is there any possibility to give us a partial refund at least? Could you tell me please how I should be happy with my stay in London's Wombat's after no proper basic hot shower? Thank you in advance. Kind regards
60/100TrustYou Survey
24.03.2019
Brenna W.
The hostel was clean but I didn’t necessarily feel welcomed by staff, the water was ice cold my entire stay (even when I showered in the non busy hours) and you can hear absolutely everything and everyone all night from the bar or rooms in the same hall if you’re staying in the garden rooms. But on the bright side it’s in a great location- LOVED the location and the rooms were clean.
40/100TrustYou Survey
24.03.2019
I stayed in the hostel 2 years ago and was very happy with it. Recommended it to several friends. But this time it was a nightmare. Got a room in the basement, small, hot, right next to the smoking corner, and insanely loud all night(must have been next to a machine room or sth.). Mattress was filthy and worn out.No WIFI during my entire stay (3 days).On top I was lucky to have some dirty and annoying roommates (not the hostels fault, I know). So I haven't slept much, plus I had insane back pain caused by the bed, which made walking almost impossible. Great for a city trip. Had to go to the doctor, still in pain a week later. Never again.
100/100TrustYou Survey
23.03.2019
Marvin R.
Mein Aufenthalt lief problemlos und sicher ab. Die Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption waren stets freundlich und bemüht und haben bei allen Fragen und Problemen eine gute Hilfe geboten.