review of all travelers book now – find beds

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: 88 of 100 (9679 Reviews)

80/100
TrustYou Survey17.10.2019 (Cesar P.)

I would give 5/5 if the elevators were working. Fix them!

20/100
TrustYou Survey17.10.2019 (Colleen)

We’ve stayed in many hostels across Asia, Europe and the US (including wombats in Vienna which is amazing). This is by far the rudest, least helpful staff we have come across. The dryers don’t work. After asking for a refund we were told we probably don’t know how to use a dryer and that it was our fault (from the manager of the hostel). Keep in mind using the dryer is £3 alone (to wash is 3 as well). As many other reviewers note, the staff is condescending about everything. The location may be near an underground stop, but other than that there is literally nothing worthwhile nearby. It’s not worth the price in our opinion. Don’t bother with laundry or breakfast (it’s basically toast, ham and cold beans for about £5 all of which looks pretty questionable). The bar downstairs seems never full and empty for the hostel events (could be time of year), so don’t expect to meet a lot of people. All of this would’ve been fine for us as frequent travellers, but for the rudeness and condescension of the manager who fought paying customers over £3.

40/100
TrustYou Survey16.10.2019 ()

Easy to socialize and meet new people. Good. Friendly and knowledgable staff. Smoking rules need to be followed strictly such as no smoking at entrances. Room cleanliness not good – Old and dirty looking mattresses, new sheets should have been already on bed upon arrival as I have seen in other hostels, comforters old and dirty did not use, and toilet had bad smell.Finally, should charge less if you must take the upper bunk.

100/100
TrustYou Survey16.10.2019 (Gaëlle)

Very friendly staff, big and very clean room, great location, cosy atmosphere. I didn’t take the breakfast and haven’t been to the bar, but I’ll certainly do next time. The only small inconvenience was that the bed was very noisy, but otherwise everything else was perfect !

100/100
TrustYou Survey13.10.2019 (Monica)

– great location – good breakfast – friendly staff – clean Gr

60/100
TrustYou Survey11.10.2019 (Victoria M.)

Enjoyed the kitchen as was large with everything needed to store food and cook meals. Staff were helpful and friendly. This was second hostel have ever stayed at but having said that, the general feel of place was worn and frayed. cleanliness average. Could streamline how guests obtain coffee in morning and more staff in morning to address check out lines/wait time. Is great for large groups.

80/100
TrustYou Survey11.10.2019 (Johnathan)

This was my first ever hostel I stayed at and I loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and loved the en-suite bathroom with the extra sink outside the bathroom which allowed you to brush your teeth if someone was using the bathroom. Overall great place to stay, loved the atmosphere and bar in the basement. Breakfast was awesome! Will stay here again the next time I’m in london

100/100
TrustYou Survey11.10.2019 (Tia M.)

I always stay here while traveling in London. But what I truly appreciate is how comfortable the hostel is. My mom simply loves it here and loves how convenient the location is. People are kind and polite which reminds me of home.

100/100
TrustYou Survey11.10.2019 (Barbara)

Really well-kept helpful staff. Very considerate guests aswell.

80/100
TrustYou Survey09.10.2019 ()

Beds could really use privacy curtains. My girlfriend was the only girl in the room for several day’s and would’ve appreciated the visual barrier. Also the bed and comforter were very aged. Also the laundry machines broke frequently and were expensive for the service vs a laundromat. Also elevator was old and creaky. For the most part staff was friendly, there was one girl who was kind of dismissive in general at the front desk. Didn’t seem like she wanted to be there and didn’t want to do basic stuff like answer questions. But overall staff was super friendly and the hostel is in a good location and provides everything you need. Downstairs bar is great and I enjoyed my time there.

100/100
TrustYou Survey08.10.2019 (Carly M.)

Was glad to have chosen Wombats! Everything was excellent. The only exception was having to put my own sheets on the bed, but just a small inconvenience. Otherwise no complaints! It was very nice to have a free luggage storage room to use.

100/100
TrustYou Survey07.10.2019 (E.a)

I traveled and stayed in London at this hostel for a few days, solo and as a female. I stayed at an all girls – room which was super clean, very airy, warm (for being in october) and with greay facilities. Bathroom was super nice with a big and hot shower, lounge area super spacious and had plugs everywhere for charging phones and whatnot. Staff always available and breakfast buffet for £5 was vary varied and had lots of options. Kitchen staff could have been a little friendlier though as they kind of looked at me weird when I was looking for plates, not nice when you are alone and actually payed for breakfast. Apart from that everything was an enjoyable experience. Maybe work a little bit more on hospitality.

100/100
TrustYou Survey07.10.2019 (Mike H.)

As a former manager of several hostels, I am very picky and critical. For the size and complexity of this operation, I am very impressed. Wombat has its act together. All the staff were great. Would have been pleased to have had them on my staff.

80/100
TrustYou Survey04.10.2019 (Paige)

Overall great experience. Only comments are they never mentioned anything about having to grab your own towel downstairs at check in so once I got to room had to go back downstairs to ask. The bathroom was only supplied with one role of toilet paper and with six girls in a room the cleaning people still only left one so we constantly had to go and find someone to get more. Also, there were no outlets in the bathroom to dry your hair, only one for “shavers only” and with six girls in a room sleeping it was very inconvenient to not be able to even use the plug next to my beg or attempt to even try. Breakfast was mediocre but was sufficient enough. I dont think you can even call the pillows they gave up pillows. My sweater did a better job at supporting my neck than the flat piece of paper with a cover over to.

100/100
TrustYou Survey04.10.2019 (Fh)

Sehr nettes Personal und gute Ausstattung. Man erhält auf Anfrage hier alles was man braucht. Zimmer sehr sauber und gut ausgestattet.

100/100
TrustYou Survey04.10.2019 ()

Nice communal spaces to hang out, the smaller room (6bed) felt a little cramped but was totally acceptable. Had a larger room (Garden 1) the last couple nights and loved that room despite the fact that the only windows were skylights that opened to a smoking area. Overall a great location to walk everywhere or take public transportation. Very secure. Would definitely stay here again or at another wombat location.

60/100
TrustYou Survey02.10.2019 ()

The bed the I stayed in including others in my room were so loud every time someone or I moved even an inch it continuously woke me up over night. Adding up to very little sleep during my stay. The last time I stayed here it was much more enjoyable.

100/100
TrustYou Survey02.10.2019 (Christina M.)

The location you really can’t beat. We were only here for two days, so we were out in London and didn’t see much of the hostel. I loved the locker system and the separate bathroom and shower, so you didn’t have to wait for someone to be out of the shower to use the toilet.

80/100
TrustYou Survey02.10.2019 (Miki)

The beds would squeak no matter how small of a movement that was made. The bar was great and the rooms size was great but everything else was good

80/100
TrustYou Survey01.10.2019 (Kanin C.)

No text entered.

100/100
TrustYou Survey30.09.2019 (Elena)

Female, 49yo, solo traveler. I enjoyed my stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food, WiFi, and the bar was good. There are free tours the hostel advertises. The location is close to many interesting sites and places to eat.

100/100
TrustYou Survey30.09.2019 (Donatella)

Tutto bene a partire dalla disponibilità del personale, ostello pulito, situato a 5 min a piedi da Aldgate East. Comodo per famiglie e per singoli viaggiatori.

100/100
TrustYou Survey29.09.2019 (Kez)

Wombat’s in London was terrific. Stayed with 2 friends in a private room and given we’re all over 40 and had never stayed in a hostel of any type before we were a bit nervous. The whole experience was a great. Staff were super friendly, the whole place was spotlessly clean and tidy, rooms were the same and very comfortable. We had a much nicer time than occasions were we’ve stayed in premier inns or travel lodges and we all agreed we’d absolutely stay in a Wombat’s again for our next girls weekend away.

100/100
TrustYou Survey29.09.2019 (Delbes)

No text entered.

80/100
TrustYou Survey29.09.2019 ()

This is one of the cleanest hostels I’ve stayed at. In addition to the bar that is fun but far from the room for a quiet nights sleep the facilities are great. However, the staff left something to be desired – I felt mostly invisible while they catered to the 20 something men around me. In addition, the location is not great for touring around London. It’s a 10 minute walk to the tube (far compared to many other hostels in london). And I didn’t feel particularly safe walking from the tube to the hostel at night. I wouldn’t discourage staying here as it was a nice place, but I would definitely consider the location/price value of other places first.