book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Die Budapest Story
Lobby wombats Budapest

Die Budapest Story

Ich bin jetzt ein Hostel

Dieses Haus hat Geschichte. Natürlich ist die Geschichte eng verknüpft mit der Geschichte der Straße, also holen wir hier etwas aus.

Király utca, die Königsgasse. Ihr Name wurde etliche Male geändert, genauso wie ihre Bedeutung für die Stadt. Bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war die Király Lebensnerv der Stadt. Handelszentrum und Hauptverkehrsverbindung zum Stadtzentrum. In jedem Häuserblock gab es mehrere Geschäfte, Kneipen und Nachtlokale. Im “Orfeum zur blauen Katze”, sagt man hatten die Tänzerinnen nicht ausser einer echten Perlenkette an. Manche der vielen Weinkeller in der Straße beschäftigten Männer, welche die Betrunkenen in der Scheibtruhe heimbrachten, da Kutschen sie nicht mehr mitnahmen. Die Király, eine Straße voller Leben, Lärm und Laster.

Seit Mitte des 19 Jahrhunderts wuchs der unbedingte Wille der ungarischen Staatsmänner, Budapest zu den anderen europäischen Städten aufschließen zu lassen. Die Stadt wurde evaluiert, neu geplant und umgebaut. Paralell zur Király utca wurde die Andrássy út gebaut. Ein prunkvoller Boulevard, eine neue Hauptstrasse, die als Symbol für ein Neues modernes Budapest stehen sollte. Die Király verlor an Bedeutung, aber bis heute nicht an Charme.

In der Blütezeit der Király, 1840 wurde das Haus des heutigen wombat’s CITY HOSTEL Budapest gebaut. Es war eigentlich immer als Wohnhaus in Verwendung. Das Erdgeschoss beherbergte über die Jahrzehnte Kneipen, Geschäfte, Kaffeehäuser, eine Bäckerei, einige Jahre sogar eine Regen- und Sonnenschirmfabrik. Im 20 jahrhundert war es die längste zeit ein 4-Stern Hotel.

Wir sind stolz darauf seit 2012 mit dem wombat’s CITY HOSTEL Budapest einen neuen Abssatz in der Geschichte dieses Hauses schreiben zu dürfen. Als Hostel, einem Zuhause für junge Reisende. ist das wombat’s CITY HOSTEL ideal gelegen. Nahe aller Sehenswürdigkeiten, im Zentrum und inmitten einer Straße, die zu alter Höchstform aufläuft. Die Ruin Bars, die Lokale und Restaurants, das prickelnde Nachtleben. Die Király deckt wieder das ganze Spektrum ab, nur in der Scheibtruhe wird selten jemand heim geführt.

X
!

Jó éjt budapest!

Due to the non-transparent and complicated Covid-Situation in Hungary, we are forced to temporarily close our City Hostel Budapest. 
 
We will monitor the situation closely and will reopen our hostel in Budapest in spring 2021. 
 
Thank you for your patience and stay safe! 
 
Marcus & Sascha
Founders Wombat’s

The Budapest story

This house is teeming with history. Of course, that history is closely connected to the history of the neighbourhood, so first a little background.
Our hostel is located on Király utca, the King’s Alley. The name of th street has changed countless times, as has its significance for the city. Until the end of the 19th century, Király was the main artery,  trade centre and main link to the heart of the city. There were several shops, bars and nightclubs on each block. In the “Orpheum zur blauen Katze”, it was said that the dancers wore nothing but a necklace of genuine pearls. Some of the many wine bars on the street employed men who transportet drunks to their home in a wheelbarrow, as horse-drawn carriages would no longer take them. Király – a street full of life, noise and vices.
From the middle of the 19th century onwards, the absolute determination of Hungarian statesmen to open up Budapest to other European cities grew. The city was evaluated, completely rearranged and thoroughly renovated. Andrássy út was built parallel to Király utca. A splendid boulevard, a new main street to stand as a symbol for a new, modern Budapest. Király became less important, but to this day retains its charm.
The building which currently houses Wombat’s The City Hostel Budapest was built in Király’s heyday, in 1840. It has actually always been used as a residential building. Over the decades, the ground floor played host to bars, shops, cafés, a bakery, and even an umbrella and parasol factory for a few years. For most of the 20th century, it was a 4-star hotel.
We are proud to have been permitted to write a new chapter in the history of this building as of 2012 with the opening of Wombat’s The City Hostel Budapest. As a hostel, a home for young travellers, we are ideally located. Close to all the sights, in the centre and in the middle of a street that has only improved with age. The ruin bars, the atmospheric venues and restaurants, the thrilling nightlife – Király, once more, covers the entire spectrum, although people are rarely taken home in a wheelbarrow these days.
Király utca is still a busy and vibrant street.

View along the street. Taken from a dorm in the second floor.
Király utca is still a busy and vivid street.

Awarded Most Popular Hostel in Budapest

Wombat’s Budapest has won quite a few awards. Among others, it has already been awarded Most Popular Hostel in Budapest at the HOSCAR awards four times.