book
now
find beds

More than 15 People?
Inquire Group Booking. wombats text decoration

Detailed Reviews
Default Site Image

Detailed Reviews

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: 84 of 100 (4572 Reviews)

100/100TrustYou Survey
11.08.2019
Jennifer V.
Amazing stay there. Perfect location. Nice atmosphere. Good breakfast. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Only thing Id improve would be the pub crawl but other than that everything was perfect.
100/100TrustYou Survey
09.08.2019
Jay S.
Common washroom between multiple rooms would be great
60/100TrustYou Survey
07.08.2019
Andrea
The installations weren't all that clean. The bathroom smelled like pee during my 3 day stay, which made it seem like it wasn't being cleaned. Reception could provide a quick overview of how to use the lockers as it is not that intuitive. The bar was pretty cool, and I appreciated the free luggage storage.
100/100TrustYou Survey
06.08.2019
Lily
Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Wombats, it was great and close to the city centre, and lots of nice restaurants and shops in the surrounding area. Check-in was smooth and the free drink at the bar was a nice touch. LOVED the A/C in the rooms and it was very clean and neat inside as well. The only downside was that I felt the breakfast was a bit lacking, I would recommend picking up some food at a local/nearby café instead. Also really appreciated being able to ask Reception to print my bus ticket - very handy!
20/100TrustYou Survey
06.08.2019
Ishan D.
The air conditioner didn’t work at , had to borrow fans and till the time I left it wasn’t repaired. Would not book wombat ever in my life and would not recommend to anyone. Even not worth the 1 start rating
20/100TrustYou Survey
04.08.2019
Sylesh S.
Dirty toilet. Ridiculously loud locality (even past 4:30 AM). HORRIBLE Wi-Fi. It was too slow and inconsistent to even GOOGLE stuff. Couldn't access the internet for even the most basic stuff. Well- located, but otherwise awful. Seriously, don't waste your money on the place. Find a cheaper place in the same locality.
40/100TrustYou Survey
02.08.2019
Maddi
After my first night I work up with bites all over my body and unfortunately for me I have quite large reactions to bug bites. We did have the window open this night so I didn’t want to jump to conclusions and again slept in the bed the second night, this time with the windows closed and woke up with further bites. This is when I notified reception and was made to feel stupid being told it was probably mosquitos or something attracted from elsewhere. A man came up and checked my bed (although this was done in the dark because other people were sleeping) and said he couldn’t find anything. I switched beds into a separate part of the room and requested new sheets I was also able to wash my clothes and given some cream for the bites. After switching beds I received no further bites Thankgod. After this experience other travelers on my bus also said a few of them had similar issues with bites all over their bodies over the same time period as me. Although I eventually was offered a new room I just wasn’t taken seriously enough or offered anything to make my stay more comfortable after showing them all these bites and it made for a really uncomfortable time in Budapest which put a damper on my time there. Wifi also only worked well on one spot of reception down the back which was inadequate. The washing machines were also broken when we got there and after asking a few people at different times who had no idea what was going on we washed our clothes at the laundromat down the road.
100/100TrustYou Survey
01.08.2019
Lucy D.
No text entered.
100/100TrustYou Survey
01.08.2019
Kris
Easy access to all metro lines. Clean and comfortable.
80/100TrustYou Survey
31.07.2019
Ankit A.
The hostel is great, very clean, nice facilities, but the atmosphere is completely missing.
80/100TrustYou Survey
30.07.2019
Gill
Very large hostel, but the location is excellent. The 4 bed dorm I was in had 2 bunk beds, was very clean with large bathroom and was quiet and it was female only dorm. Lots of hostels in Budapest seem to only do mixed dorms.
100/100TrustYou Survey
30.07.2019
I had a great time staying at Wombat's hostel. Clean rooms, nice and helpful staff, great location especially if you want to go out as well and in walking distance to a lot of the main attractions, breakfast for like 3 € is pretty sufficient, too. Highly recommendable!
80/100TrustYou Survey
29.07.2019
Samantha
Brilliant hostel to stay in during my time in Budapest. Central location and easy access to metros and bus routes. Great atmosphere and comfy beds.
60/100TrustYou Survey
29.07.2019
Way too big for my taste, the luggage room was so full that we had to climb over a mountain of suitcases to get to our stuff. The staff didn't care, even when you asked for help. The bathroom in my 6p female dorm was very dirty and smelled funky, luckily I had flipflops with me. Beds were old and loud every time I turned. I probably won't come back, there wasn't the welcoming atmosphere I'm looking for when I travel.. at least the locationwas great, close to cool bars and stations.
100/100TrustYou Survey
27.07.2019
Paddy
Like Wombats. Good simple breakfast. One free drink
60/100TrustYou Survey
26.07.2019
Fahim
The bathroom in the dorm wasn't the best in terms of cleanliness. The floor tiles gathers dirt a lot and it would have been nice to have room service check on them frequently. Breakfast: Nobody knew why the panini maker wasn't hot or when it will be, and I did ask around... would have been nice to have hot sandwiches...
40/100TrustYou Survey
25.07.2019
Air con was broken, asked multiple times for maintenance to check it out but nothing was done. Fans were offered but did not help much. Roommate had visible bed bugs in her bed also.
60/100TrustYou Survey
25.07.2019
Camille
It's a good hostel, providing everything you might expect from such a place. Cheap and all you cannot eat breakfast, ideal location, washing machines... It's efficiently runned, there's a big kitchen, rooms are big and bathrooms are clean-ish... It just lacks personality and if you're not in your early twenties / a lad on a gap year, you might get tired of the "party vibe." (Loud music in common areas, beer pongs and pub crawls and drunken youths shouting in the streets at night...) Staff members were nice, but one day, as I wanted to hang some stuff to dry, I was told to leave the laundry area quite rudely by a woman without explanation
60/100TrustYou Survey
24.07.2019
Tobias S.
The rooms were clean and Nice but the lobby and bathroom were terribly smelly and were Not up to my standards. Otherwise it Worked for what we needed
80/100TrustYou Survey
24.07.2019
Binh N.
Wifi needs to be heavily improved as i cannot get a good or consistent connection (which is important for professional work or planning events) Everything else was fabulous. People were great and beds were comfortable
100/100TrustYou Survey
24.07.2019
Leticia R.
The hostel is just perfect. The location, the atmosphere, staff, guests... the room is cleaner than my own house. We just love it! One regret was not staying since the begining of our travel.
40/100TrustYou Survey
23.07.2019
Ana
Our experience was bad. The sheets of the bed were dirty, it was impossible to sleep due to the activities on the floor until late and in the breakfast, fruits and bread were not in a good state. As a positive point, the location is great to visit the city.
60/100TrustYou Survey
23.07.2019
Beth
The hostel is welcoming with a lovely stained glass lobby. Kitchen and laundry were available, but surfaces were often dirty, only one chopping knife was provided (leading frequently to a wait), and some of the laundry facilities were out of order. It was very hot upon arrival, and waiting in the hot lobby (no air conditioning) was unpleasant. The air conditioning in the room was good, but the smell of chlorine bleach used on the room floor was overwhelming and did not air out when the window was open. The staff should strongly consider a less toxic cleaning product. After staying in Wombat’s London where the facilities were spotless and the rooms unscented, this was disappointing.
100/100TrustYou Survey
21.07.2019
Cesc S.
Everything was clean (bathrooms especially) very kind staff and awesome location. Nothing bad to say!
60/100TrustYou Survey
18.07.2019
Courtney
Great location and good sized rooms however the damp sewerage smell was very prominent throughout the hostel and the dust/temperamental air-conditioning made us slightly sick.