review of all travellers book now – find beds
X
!

Jó éjt budapest!

Due to the non-transparent and complicated Covid-Situation in Hungary, we are forced to temporarily close our City Hostel Budapest. 
 
We will monitor the situation closely and will reopen our hostel in Budapest in spring 2021. 
 
Thank you for your patience and stay safe! 
 
Marcus & Sascha
Founders Wombat’s

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: 83 of 100 (3162 Reviews)

20/100
TrustYou Survey09.09.2020 (João A. L. N. D. S.)

It was my 4th time in Budapest and Wombat’s main entrance always blinked an eye to me, so I decided to check it out this time. I had 6 nights in Budapest and booked only 2 nights a the Hive so I could stay at least 2 other nights in Wombat’s. Unfortunatelly, your cleaning service ruined me and my girlfriend’s experience. We booked a private suite and when we arrived there was a tuft of hair in the bathroom’s floor… That’s disgusting! But ok.. it was only the first night, it might have fallen of the broom or the shovel.. I don’t know but I expected it would be cleaned during the next day. However, the cleaning service might have seen it, grabbed it and put it on the bathrom’s sink. When I arrived to my room and was washing my hands, as I turned on the water and it went on the plughole, the tuft came off of it. Really, wtf?!!? I don’t remember having a similar episode anywhere!! That’s really sick! Of course, we ended up going back to The Hive. I won’t be back guys. I’m sorry.

100/100
TrustYou Survey10.08.2020 (Balazs)

No text entered.

100/100
TrustYou Survey18.03.2020 (Monica T.)

everything was clean, big rooms, comfortable beds and cool staff :)

80/100
TrustYou Survey07.03.2020 (Angelica G.)

No text entered.

100/100
TrustYou Survey03.03.2020 (Mariana)

No text entered.

80/100
TrustYou Survey02.03.2020 (Ali)

We enjoyed our stay at Wombats for one night. The location was perfect to explore Budapest and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable but it had a horrible smell that remained for the whole stay. We opened the window for several hours but it didn’t go away.

60/100
TrustYou Survey29.02.2020 ()

I think your common areas and the breakfast was the best on your service. The rooms and bathrooms were not very clean and the bed sheets neither. Hope you improve in that

100/100
TrustYou Survey27.02.2020 (Valeria H.)

Todo el hostal es súper limpio, desde tu cama, el baño, la cocina, áreas comunes y tienes una bebida en el bar de bienvenida, el ambiente cálido y divertido a la vez, los chicos de la recepción muy amables dispuestos a ayudar y darte todas las indicaciones posibles en cualquier sentido. Sin duda si existiera un Wombat’s en cada rincón del mundo, los elegiría sin pensarlo dos veces.

100/100
TrustYou Survey25.02.2020 (Ainhoa)

Everything was perfect! Any complaints! Thank you!

60/100
TrustYou Survey25.02.2020 (Fiorella)

The room was big and we had a lot of space. The bathroom as well. The bathroom is not too clean but in general was a good hostel to stay a few nights

80/100
TrustYou Survey24.02.2020 ()

Hostel was in centre of it all so it was very easy to explore around. We stayed in double room and it was quite minimalistic but okay :)

60/100
TrustYou Survey23.02.2020 (Leah C.)

Very good location, close to all the Major touristIc destinations. The bathroom was cleaned regularly. However, it is incredibly noisy, both from the Main Street and the hostel itself. The hostel fails to implement rules that suggests one should make minimal noise during bedtime hours. People make noise in the corridors. I was there for 3 nights and wasn’t to sleep for even a single night! So, inspire of the location, I wouldn’t stay here again.

100/100
TrustYou Survey20.02.2020 (Nahon)

all wonderfull !

100/100
TrustYou Survey20.02.2020 (Franciely T. V.)

Excellent location in an incredible accommodation.

80/100
TrustYou Survey19.02.2020 (Andre_c)

Great location, close to a lot of food places and bus/metro stops. The staff at the reception was friendly and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast is ok for the price. The toilet had a weird smell. That’s a pity, because it was clean but the smell was not a good thing.

100/100
TrustYou Survey10.02.2020 ()

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff is friendpy and helpful, and you are just minutes away from public transportation!

20/100
TrustYou Survey09.02.2020 (Sam S.)

We had a fantastic time at Wombats Vienna so opted to travel to Wombat’s Budapest. However we didn’t get what we paid for, despite paying more than we had paid in Vienna. As we entered the room, we was hit with an over powering smell of damp. We went and spoke to staff who then moved us to another room which still smelt damp although not as strong, but there was mould up the wall. Spoke to staff again, showed them a photo of the mould and they even admitted that it was disgusting. They then offered us a 4 bed (not what we booked, we booked a double) which then smelt even worse than the first room and the staff member that showed us the room also admitted it smelt horrendous. We asked to speak to the manager, and was told they were unavailable. There was no other room available so we had to put up and shut up until the next morning. It was also apparent that the hostel were aware of the bad smelling rooms as the windows were all open on arrival to mask the smell, despite there being big notices on the bedrooms walls insisting that the windows are to be kept closed! During the night we were also woken up on a number of occasions to a loud bang on our bedroom door, which startled us from our sleep in the early hours which left us shock up and awake after the fear of someone coming in to our room, making us feel unsafe in our own room. The Next morning we attempted to speak to the manager again however we were told once again that they were unavailable. We were offered free breakfast due to the room not being to standard and when mentioned the loud bangs at night the member of staff said “it would have been someone drunk” which is not really the response we wanted. We also watched two middle aged women just walk in off the streets into the hostel to go to the toilet and leave, proving security was appalling. The free breakfast to compensate was okay, average and did the trick, however a couple of slices of bread I picked up had mould on, I guess just like the rooms. We have been travelling for a month and this is the most expensive place yet worst experience we have had on the whole trip, which is disappointing as we loved Wombat’s Vienna! When asked how was your stay when checking out, we mentioned the issues we had once again to the same person as before and all they could say was “oh sorry guys”.

100/100
TrustYou Survey07.02.2020 (Karen)

Staff were very welcoming and helpful, the hostel was very clean and in a great location. Would recommend it and would stay again

100/100
TrustYou Survey06.02.2020 (Eline)

We had a great stay. The staff was friendley and the hostel felt as home. It was a great place at a perfect location.

100/100
TrustYou Survey06.02.2020 (Ruth)

Great place to stay, central to all sight seeing attractions, help full staff, clean rooms, would stay again

60/100
TrustYou Survey05.02.2020 (Fjolla)

The room (female dorm 6 persons) was a bit old and smelly. There were also no towels/flip flops offered for the bathroom like in the other hostels. The staff was friendly and welcoming.

100/100
TrustYou Survey04.02.2020 (Pranav)

Very friendly staff…awesome atmosphere…extremely clean…plus its at the best location possible…bang in the centre of every place a tourist like me would want to visit…

80/100
TrustYou Survey04.02.2020 ()

Nos deux nuits se sont bien passées, le personnel est très agréable, les chambres sont grandes et bien chauffée. Dommage qu’il y est une forte odeur venant de la salle de bain et pas de tapis pour la sortie de la douche, on en met de partout.

100/100
TrustYou Survey03.02.2020 (Mattia)

The hostel is amazingly located, next to all night life attractions and nearby the downtown historical places. Nice vibes and team. Clean and with a cool bar.

80/100
TrustYou Survey03.02.2020 (Tm)

Very comfortable stay, clean rooms, friendly staff, 24*7 support from reception, free area to store luggage, decent breakfast options