review of all travellers book now – find beds

Latest reviews from all over the web

Average Rating on TrustYou.com: of 100 ( Reviews)

60/100
TrustYou Survey14.05.2022 (Jyoti S.)

The corridor was very smelly and claustrophobic. The toilet also smelled. The dirty stuff lying on the table was there for 2 days. The staff was helpful but no body was adventurous to know things out of comfort zone… Like any hiking in Hungary etc

40/100
TrustYou Survey02.05.2022 (Al)

Minimal bathroom, spacious bedroom, medium value for money, position ok.

80/100
TrustYou Survey24.04.2022 (Natalia M.)

The check in was easy. The staff was positive and helpful. The location is great. And the room is good. However, when paying 10 thousands i hope to be able to sleep. Party on the first floor is heard on the third. The thin walls make every little sound from the corridor loud. And apparently no one tries to stop people from shouting and running at night.

20/100
TrustYou Survey18.04.2022 ()

We booked a private room for the Easter weekend, unfortunately the quality was bad overall. The check-in and check-out processes were not smooth and slow due to the lack of efforts from the staff who clearly didn’t care. The room’s bathroom stank as well, despite the efforts of the cleaning crew to cover it with spray. Otherwise the room was good.

60/100
TrustYou Survey18.04.2022 (Jj)

I absolutely loved our room with the exception of the awful sewage smell emanating from our bathroom. Staff said that it’s because we refused to have daily cleaning where they would treat the drain but you should not have to treat your drain every day in order to avoid what we smelled——there is definitely a sewage problem. The Wifi was not worked from our room about 50% of the time due to our room being all the way in the top corner of the building. Not normally something that would bug me but I had no service unless I was connected to Wifi. We told the cleaning staff that we didn’t want them in our room to clean during our stay and they came back in anyway. We learned that they do not speak the language that we were speaking to them in, but after many minutes of shaking our heads “no” and frantically waving our hands for them to stop and leave seems like it should be universal, so I didn’t appreciate the staff trying to argue with me saying that they didn’t understand what we were trying to say. Despite all that, the staff was indeed very friendly and kind and they did heed my request to keep the cleaning staff out of our rooms which was wonderful. Loved the ease of getting to and into our rooms and access to the kitchen resources. Would definitely stay at another Wombats in the future but hopefully the next smells better.

100/100
TrustYou Survey18.04.2022 (Lucy)

I stayed in a four bed female dorm and found it great. It was clean, the beds were comfy and toilet/ shower was clean. Staff were really friendly and check in/ check out was easy. Location really central and easy to reach everything. Airport shuttle bus very close by too. Near to an area with bars so can get quite loud at night outside so if you don’t mind & want to be close to nightlife it’s good.

100/100
TrustYou Survey17.04.2022 (Sıla S.)

The staff are really helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious and very clean.

60/100
TrustYou Survey16.04.2022 ()

The hostel is situated in a great area to explore Budapest. However, for backpackers looking to meet people and make friends, this is certainly one of the least conducive hostel to that experience I’ve ever stayed in. The bar is closed, no events are held by the hostel, no tours. It’s simply a place to sleep.

40/100
TrustYou Survey22.03.2022 ()

Hi, Just wanted to leave a quick note on our recent experience. We have stayed at both the Munich and Vienna locations and had an awesome experience. I would say our stay in Budapest was pretty disappointing. Our room had an awful smell of a wet, rotting mold or something that didn’t go away (room 422). The bathroom was covered in hair and clearly not cleaned before our arrival. Also I think it should be noted somewhere on the website just how noisy the street facing rooms are. Very loud and hard to get a good night sleep. Staff was all super friendly and helpful but overall very disappointing stay. Hopefully this can help in improving some areas of the hostel.

40/100
TrustYou Survey13.02.2022 (Adva A.)

This is the second time I’m coming to this hostel and the last one was great. This time also was good except for one thing. I took a private room and there was a lamp in the shower that kept blinking and I had to shower in the dark. Me and my partner told the reception about it in the first night, and we got promises it will be fixed every day since. Only in the last night it was fixed after lots of excuses and sorrys and trying to make us up with a beer and breakfast voucher. And still I feel like such a tiny problem could have been fixed a lot faster. We searched for a low price accommondation in a centered area, however the problem ruined a bit of the stay and we think to pay a higher price for a hotel.

100/100
TrustYou Survey04.02.2022 (Luka)

No text entered.

100/100
TrustYou Survey27.01.2022 (Amna Q.)

The room was clean and tidy. The environment was relaxing and comfortable, especially the kitchen. The staff at the reception is really great and helping.

80/100
TrustYou Survey26.01.2022 ()

The hostel was styled in a very nice way. It was very central, moderately clean, the towels given out were dirty. Service personnel was nice, didn’t know about breakfast options though. Bar was unfortunately closed the whole time. All together it was a nice hostel for a few nights, would do it again.

100/100
TrustYou Survey21.01.2022 (Lan B.)

That’s the best hostel! Good location, big bathroom, sweaty staff . I will come back.

60/100
TrustYou Survey13.01.2022 (Joe C.)

landed early morn 7.30 got to hostel which dident seem busy on the day qe wereeaving the cleaner was at our door bang on ten am .Was suprised we were refused early check in and made to wait till 2 pm . We had doubke room my pal was in shared dorm qhwn we finally checked in his dormwas empty and clearly other rooms were empty .Think its very sad not to allow travellers early check in in room is available .We left budapest stayed in two other hostels and had no prob checking in on arrival .. Ive stayed before and had no problem also the bar has a sign join us at six we went back one night to drink at the bar to find its actually shut down .Why not put that on the sign or inform folk when they check in . Other than that great hostel well kept and very very clean where ever you look some one is cleaning something ..Great place to sat if your flight lands at 1pm or after .

60/100
TrustYou Survey04.01.2022 (Domenica)

No text entered.

80/100
TrustYou Survey21.12.2021 (Corinne)

j’ai adoré l’emplacement tout près des transports et des principaux monumentset musées. le personnel est aux petits soins. on m’a trouvé un logement en dernière juste après qu’on m’ait refusé dans une autre auberge où j’avais réservé (politique d’âge). Petit moins la chambre donnait sur une rue passante et c’est pas très bien insonorisé.

100/100
TrustYou Survey15.11.2021 (Traveler)

Very nice hostel in a supreme location! Could have been a bit cleaner… first room we got had a weird smell… Too bad the bar at the entrance floor was closed during our stay.

40/100
TrustYou Survey01.11.2021 (Marie)

We did enjoy the good location of the hostel, the price and how big the house and rooms were. What we did not appreciate was the level of cleanliness, the very loud and waggly bunkbeds and the intrusive unpleasant smell in the building – but especially in our room & bathroom. We learned from the staff that this is a reoccurring and non-correctable problem of the complex, yet we would have appreciated a more transparent communication about it. We also hoped for Covid-guidelines in the hostel, to keep our stay as save as possible.

100/100
TrustYou Survey31.10.2021 (Juan F.)

Pretty good hostel. Great location. Very friendly staff with great positive attitude and always willing to help.

60/100
TrustYou Survey24.10.2021 (Rida)

Our room (426) was clean and spacious. The bed was also very uncomfortable with only a very thin mattress and I woke up with a backache. The cleanliness of the bathroom, however, could use improvement. The bigger problem however was a consistent smell of sewage in the bathroom. This is probably due to a sewage line in the structure of the building that’s cracked. The stench was very strong and definitely needs to be looked at, not only because it’s unhealthy but also because it contributes negatively to the experience of the stay at Wombat’s.

100/100
TrustYou Survey18.10.2021 (Anna K.)

Hostel had a great vibe and great location Staff was incredibly friendly!

100/100
TrustYou Survey09.10.2021 (Johny)

OK.

60/100
TrustYou Survey08.10.2021 ()

The ventilator in the bathroom cannot be turned off, so if you go to the toilet in the middle of the night you have to listen to its noise for quite some time. Also a weird situation happend when a bunch of cleaning ladies came into the room 1 second after knocking which was kind of awkward when being right out of the shower

60/100
TrustYou Survey06.10.2021 ()

Really sad, that there were no activities and that the bar was closed. So, it was more like a anonym stay in a hotel than in a hostel. Cleanliness was ok, the bathroom was anyhow smelly. Breakfast was also ok, but could be a little more various for the price. The Staff was really helpful and friendly.